The Color Of Hunger

Happiness

Posted on: March 24, 2009

This was an assignment for LA class. We had to come up with a rule for life, pretty much any rule you could think of. So this is mine.

..
Happiness is not based on possessions or power, but on the relationships you make with the people you love and respect.
..

For my rule, I guess to fully understand it, you can’t be one of those money-hungry economists or businessmen who only care about how much they’ll make today or what kind of cash will be in their hand tomorrow. Happiness, I’ve learned so far in my eighteen years on this crazy Earth, is something you can’t touch. Something that the blind can see and the deaf can hear.

Hell, you could be the richest man in the entire world, but at the same time, the unhappiest. Living in a beautiful mansion along the sandy beaches of the Fiji Islands, retired at the ripe old age of 36, with billions and billions of dollars to your name sounds like a perfect picture of paradise, right? But what if there was a catch. The tiny writing on the bottom of the contract of life, the last two seconds of that ‘side-effect free’ Pepto-Bismol commercial. What if I said you could live that life of riches and bathe in all that fame and glory, but had to leave all your family and friends behind, having no contact with any of them for the rest of your life? You’d have all the essential things to live of course; money, food, and shelter. But without happiness and love, you’d have nothing to live for. At least I wouldn’t.

Marissa Krause, one of my closest friends, asked me the other day if I’d rather be filthy rich, but sad, or dirt poor, but happy. “Hmm, how bout’ filthy rich and happy, Sis? That sounds pretty good to me.” She just looked at me shaking her head back and forth, laughing quietly at my response. But once I got to thinking about the true reality of her question, I realized that indeed, if I did have a choice of these two, I’d have to go with the poor and happy one. And I don’t think I’d regret it either. To me, happiness is the key to life. So if you’ve found that, you’ve found life.

Leave a Reply

Spokane, WA. 26 years young. Aquarius, of course. I am a very optimistic individual driven by passion and creativity. Music is my inspiration to everything. I dig the nightlife. I enjoy discovering new craft beers and breweries. I like animals more than humans. The ocean is amazing. I have no idea what I wanna do with my life and prolly never will. But I'm going to succeed because I'm crazy enough to think I can.
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 5,351 hits
