The Color Of Hunger

Status Symbols As Meaning/Pop Culture As Religion

Posted on: March 2, 2010

People don’t care if yer an artist. They don’t care if you create things. They don’t care if you appreciate the simple things in life. They just wanna know what restaurants you eat at, what kind of car you drive, who yer married to, and so on and so forth. Status symbols as meaning, pop culture as religion. That’s why payphones rarely exist anymore. Even homeless people have cell phones. Crackheads have diamond watches. I mean, what’s the point in thinking life is a competition of worthless accumulation? You could die in yer sleep and it’s just more junk left behind for others to fight over. No use being the richest cunt in the cemetery, yu know?

The major reason we, as a country, fight against things that don’t exist, is because we’re a nation of people who BELIEVE in things that don’t exist. We need meaning behind everything; we need to understand what cannot be understood. Same reason there are more liquor stores than churches. Same reason there are more prisons than schools. Same reason you have more underwear than you do pants. Same reason more than fifteen percent of people in the United States are without health insurance. Same reason people who are married stop having as much sex. We thrive on applying logic when there is none.

Our world uses and destroys, demolishing thousands upon millions of acres of jungle, forest, and farmland. And for what? To build more homes, to give more loans, to have more teenage pregnancies, to overpopulate the world, to run out of food, to kill innocent children, to send young men and women off to die in foreign lands in the name of democracy that no longer even exists in the US. For a president who refuses to put his hand over his heart and say the pledge of allegiance? Sure, I admire people who sign off their lives to the government and say I don’t give a flyin’ FUCK if I die tomorrow. I love those people. I just don’t believe the government loves ‘em back.

We either confront our fears or we run away. I see very few people in this world who choose to walk right up to that in which they fear, whether it’s relationships, commitment, life, just anything, and actually confront it. Instead, we run away from things. We take the easy way out. People want the easy money, they want the easy things in life, they want things to fall in their laps, wanna win the relationship lottery and marry the next model millionaire who comes along. Why is that? I suppose we all just wanna get off some way or another. It’s just too bad we don’t have the patience for foreplay.

Leave a Reply

Spokane, WA. 26 years young. Aquarius, of course. I am a very optimistic individual driven by passion and creativity. Music is my inspiration to everything. I dig the nightlife. I enjoy discovering new craft beers and breweries. I like animals more than humans. The ocean is amazing. I have no idea what I wanna do with my life and prolly never will. But I'm going to succeed because I'm crazy enough to think I can.
March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 5,369 hits
